Design of Everyday Things: Smartphone App

25 Apr

Last year, I was preparing for an official trip and decided to use my iPhone to create a list of things I needed to carry with me. I wanted a simple list app that would let me create a list of items and an option to check which items I have kept in my bag. I (and I’m sure most of us) always use a post-it note or a piece of paper to make a list of things to buy or things to do. A simple list is incredibly useful in our everyday lives.

I went to the app store on my iPhone and downloaded about ten list apps. Every app developer, in hopes of making her/his app most popular, had put many features on the app. I finally found an app that got the work done albeit poorly. That was the day my disenchantment with the iPhone began. What’s the point of having 600,000 apps when I can’t find what I’m looking for.

Here’s a sample list app. This is the first app that shows up on the app store when searched for “list”.

(click to enlarge)

A few weeks ago I switched from an iPhone to a Windows phone. I searched the marketplace and installed a list app created by Microsoft. The app lets me create lists, add items to a list, and when I check an item, it moves from “shelf” to “cart”. This is a very useful app and looks more like it was designed by Apple and not Microsoft. Simple and elegant. Gets the work done.

(click to enlarge)

Related readings
Design of Everyday Things: Microwave Keypad
600,000 apps in Apple’s App Store, yet I can’t find anything I want

Leave a Reply

